The best way to prevent conflicted copies is to create a “Currently under edit” folder. Before you start working on any document:
When two people work on the same file at the same time, it is not possible to determine, which version is more current. To make sure no edits are lost, the SecureSafe desktop app will save both versions, but only sync one. The other version will be marked with a name, time stamp and the extension “conflicted copy”. It will only be saved locally on the computer of the person responsible for creating it. This means that if a file with the name extension “conflicted copy” appears on your computer, you are responsible for merging the two files. Alternatively, you can rename your file and it will be synced normally.
A conflicted copy is created if:
We recommend you disable access to your encrypted files whenever you are logged out of the SecureSafe client. In this video, we show you how.
If you want to rename any of your synced sub folders (folders with no SecureSafe icon on them) follow these steps:
This video tutorial will show you how to install the SecureSafe Client to start synchronizing the files in your online SecureSafe account with dedicated SecureSafe folders on your PC and vice versa.
If you overwrite a file, SecureSafe stores the old version of this file in the trash folder. You can recover deleted files and old versions of files from here at any time, as long as you do not empty the trash.
All changes that you make to your local SecureSafe folder on your PC/Mac will be synchronised with your SecureSafe online. However, if you happen to delete a file by mistake, you can always retrieve it from the trash folder in your online SecureSafe account, which will keep a copy of all deleted files so long as you don't choose the option "Empty trash".
If you experience that certain files or folders in your local folder aren't being synced to your SecureSafe, it may be because of one of the following issues:
You may have used an incompatible character in the files or folder name(s). Check to see if any of the following characters are used in a file or folder name and rename them if so:
Also note, that the following file types are ignored by the SecureSafe Client meaning they will not be synced to your SecureSafe:
Furthermore, if you exceed the storage limit for your SecureSafe, all files you add to your local SecureSafe folder after this point will not be uploaded to your safe.